It’s been forever so let’s talk about Johnny Depp.

Hello, all!

It’s been over a month since I’ve posted anything. Wut.
“For the times, they are a changin’…”

The last month and a half has been a whirlwind of moving and beginning my first semester of graduate school, so I’m sorry I haven’t been keeping up with all y’all!

On a side note, it’s so crazy to think I started this blog over a year ago.
I’ve come so far!
3
And you guys have been absolutely wonderful, so thank you for sticking with me and reading my weird posts!

Anyway, I just wanted to shoot everyone a “heyyyy” and mention that I saw Black Mass tonight, and it was everything I hoped for and more.
4
If you’re not familiar with the movie or haven’t seen any trailers yet, the film is about crime boss and convicted murderer, James “Whitey” Bulger (played by Johnny Depp). I honestly don’t want to say much more than that because of spoilers and stuff, but feel free to take a look at the trailers.

Doesn’t it look great?
IT WAS SO GREAT SO GO WATCH IT.

I know there’s a lot of controversy going on right now about the movie, but I’m not quite sure I completely understand ALL of it because Whitey Bulger scared the absolute shit out of me. Not to mention, Johnny Depp plays him flawlessly (remember, just my opinion, feel free to disagree), and the rest of the cast is so damn good, I caught myself smiling during the movie. Yes, smiling. It’s so creepy when you catch yourself doing it too, isn’t it?
5
When I say he played him “flawlessly,” I really just mean that his performance as a horrible, wretched, cold-blooded criminal was excellent. I don’t know Whitey Bulger personally, so who am I to judge if Depp portrayed him accurately?
17
All I know is that I’m a major Depp fan, and he is capable of being a good actor. A damn good actor, and honestly, I think a lot of people forgot about that. I mean, can you blame us? You can only do Jack Sparrow so many times. And Mortdecai? Does anyone actually know what that movie is about?

I suppose I was just kind of bored by some of his more “family-oriented” and “safe” roles. I was really missing the raw, intense, and character-driven movies that he used to be in so often.

I wanted to see Public Enemies Depp.
7
Or Secret Window Depp (which happens to be my favorite Depp film, also one of my favorite movies ever).
8
Or What’s Eating Gilbert Grape Depp
9
Or Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas Depp (….duh….)
15
Or Sweeney Todd Depp (Depp + Helena Bonham Carter + singing + murder = awesome)
14
Or Blow Depp (…wait, what?)
10
Or even The Astronaut’s Wife Depp (yeah, so it was a weird one, but still incredibly good acting, I thought).
11
None of the Mad Hatter stuff. None of the Captain Jack Sparrow stuff. I mean, that’s good stuff, but let’s see something better.

Black Mass reminded fans, movie-lovers, and the rest of the world that Johnny Depp has still got it.
Thank. God.
12

So with that said, go see the movie, and have a nice week, folks.
16
(You know I had to throw some 21 Jump Street Depp in there somewhere…)

All my best.

Do you have a favorite Johnny Depp film?
Have you seen Black Mass?
Tell me about it! Comment or share!

2 thoughts on “It’s been forever so let’s talk about Johnny Depp.

Leave a Reply

