It’s been forever. Here’s a book list.

Hello, faithful followers and friends!

March is here and spring is on its way, and I’m a little unhappy about it because winter went by SO FAST, and I wish it was Christmas again, and I don’t want hot/humid weather, but I shouldn’t complain because the sun is nice…..
Let’s be honest, I wish it was Christmas all the time.

I talk about the weather too much.

The months have come and gone, and it’s been a ride, that’s for sure.
Here’s the rundown, for those interested:

  • I’m halfway through my second to last semester of my MA. Currently on spring break, taking today (Monday) to chill. I also did some spring cleaning and will be donating a lot of stuff. Feels good.
  • I’ve had a few poems published in Blood Moon Rising Magazine and Open Palm Print, which is very exciting. These particular poems meant a lot to me, so it’s so very cool to find them homes.
  • I’m going to be an aunt again! My brother and sister-in-law are expecting their little girl in a few more short months. I love being an auntie.
  • I’ve been in a relationship with a wonderful man for the last four months. He’s loving, funny, smart, and puts up with my antics/weirdness. Did I mention he’s silly af? We’re quite the pair.
  • I’m still working for Temenos (fiction editor), and we just put out our double edition from last season. We currently have an Open Call for submissions! We take fiction, poetry, creative non-fiction, art, and photography! So check it out!
  • I’m hanging out with family, friends, my boyfriend, and soaking up this little thing called life. Well, trying to, anyway. It’s tough these days. Have you heard who our president is? You probably have. It’s kind of shitty. But I’ll stay away from politics…for now.

So, onto the books! I wanted to include a list of books I’ve read the last few months.

Here are my favorites:

  1. Cathedral by Raymond Carver (assigned for a craft of fiction class)
    I couldn’t believe I hadn’t read any Carver before! He is totally my style. Weird, simplistic, post-modern, brave, brutal, and honest, Carver writes about real-life; he’s certainly a “dirty realist.” No magic or dragons in his stories. If you like stories that zoom in on the daily strange of people’s lives, you’ll love Carver. 5 stars!
  2. The Brimstone Journals (assigned for a YA lit class)
    I’m in a young adult literature class–can you believe it? We’ve read a few decent books though, a few I wasn’t as fond of (*cough* Divergent *cough*), but The Brimstone Journals is one of my favorites thus far. The format is much like poetry, you could easily classify it as a book of poetry, and each “poem” is a different voice/perspective. All of the voices are kids in high school. It’s raw, scary, heart-breaking, and edgy. 4.5 stars!
  3. Nation by Terry Pratchett (YA Lit)
    In class, we discussed on some level how this book may not be considered YA, but I think we confirmed it’s one of Pratchett’s “more YA” books. Other than Good Omens (his book with Neil Gaiman, I believe), this is the only Pratchett book I’ve read. I talked with my professor and got some recommendations, so I’m looking forward to digging deeper into the Pratchett world. 4 stars!
  4. 98.6 by Ronald Sukenick (craft class)
    Holy shit I loved this book. I loved it as much as I loved Cathedral…almost. It’s experimental, so if you love The Weird, get into this book. It’s about movements, and free-loving, and spiritual quests. There are some triggers, though, so be careful. 4.5 stars!
  5. Snow White by Donald Barthelme (craft class)
    Another one of those weird, post-modern novels. Barthelme is hilarious. I died. Seriously laughed out-loud at so many moments in this book. It’s basically the re-telling of Snow White’s story (an invert fairy tale), but often from the perspective of the dwarves (and sometimes Snow White and a few other characters). They’re kind of all living in a commune, and it’s kind of gross sometimes. It’s like if Snow White were made into a Judd Apatow movie. Or maybe something like The Big Lebowski.
  6. Sick in the Head: Conversations About Life and Comedy by Judd Apatow
    Speaking of Apatow, if you love his movies, you’ll probably love this. It’s essentially interviews, some years ago and some more recent, of him and various comedians/actors/actresses/etc. Some of the interviews are even Apatow interviewing people from the 1980s, like Jerry Seinfeld. 5 stars!
  7. Maus I and Maus II by Art Spiegelman
    YES YES YES. These books were my absolute favorite read of the year (I started them in 2016, finished in 2017; read over Christmas break). Another set I was surprised I hadn’t read yet. My boyfriend loaned them to me, I started them, and just couldn’t put them down. They feature the story of a Jewish survivor of the Holocaust, and the frame story is his son talking to him about his experiences–it’s based on Spiegelman’s story about his father’s experiences in Auschwitz and Poland during WWII. The characters are actually drawn as mice, while the Nazi’s are portrayed as cats. These graphic novels are powerful and moving. 5 stars for sure!
  8. Every Day by David Levithan
    A story about a soul or consciousness that wakes up in a different body every day, this story has INCREDIBLE voice. It deals with many young adult issues, including love and self-identity, and many adult issues as well. Levithan writes clear and concise, and his narrative is brave and real. 4 stars!

Well, I’m off to enjoy the rest of my evening. Probably going to watch more Golden Girls, finish the New Yorker I just got in the mail, and watch some more documentaries on psychopaths on Amazon Prime.

All my best.

Leave a Reply

